65th Ramon Magsaysay Award 2023 Winners List

About Ramon Magsaysay Award 

The Ramon Magsaysay Award, often referred to as the “Nobel Prize of Asia,” is a prestigious annual award that recognizes outstanding contributions in various fields such as Government Service, Public Service, Community Leadership, Journalism, Literature and Creative Communication Arts, Peace and International Understanding, and Emergent Leadership.

Established in 1957 by the trustees of the Rockefeller Brothers Fund, in collaboration with the Philippine government, this award is named in honor of Ramon Magsaysay, the seventh President of the Philippines. Magsaysay was known for his integrity, courageous service to the people, and pragmatic idealism within a democratic society.

The award is presented by the Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation and symbolizes excellence, selfless service, and positive impact on society. It has recognized remarkable individuals and organizations from across Asia who have made significant contributions to their respective fields, often going above and beyond in their commitment to creating positive change and addressing pressing social issues.

The Ramon Magsaysay Award has gained international recognition for its role in acknowledging individuals and organizations that have made profound differences in their communities and beyond. It serves as a beacon of hope and inspiration, highlighting the importance of integrity, compassion, and innovation in solving some of Asia’s most pressing challenges.

65th Ramon Magsaysay Award 2023 Winners List

The 65th Ramon Magsaysay Awards in 2023 celebrated the extraordinary achievements of four exceptional individuals from Asia, solidifying its reputation as the ‘Nobel Prize of Asia.’ The honorees included Korvi Rakshand from Bangladesh, recognized for his inclusive education initiatives.

Eugenio Lemos from Timor Leste, acknowledged for his contributions to sustainable agriculture; Miriam Coronel-Ferrer from the Philippines, celebrated for her dedication to non-violent peacebuilding; and Dr. Ravi Kannan R. from India, honored for his people-centric healthcare endeavors.

These awardees exemplify the spirit of transformative leadership, each making a profound impact in their respective fields, and continuing the legacy of the Ramon Magsaysay Awards in recognizing those who tirelessly work for the betterment of society and peace in the Asian region.

Awardee Name



Korvi Rakshand


Recognized for his efforts in advancing inclusive education for disadvantaged children in Bangladesh.

Eugenio Lemos


Acknowledged for his significant contributions in reshaping young Timorese perspectives on nature and the environment.

Miriam Coronel-Ferrer


Celebrated for her unwavering commitment to employing non-violent strategies in promoting peace and resolving conflicts.

Dr. Ravi Kannan R.


Honored for his steadfast dedication to the medical profession, emphasizing holistic and people-centric healthcare.


Details About Ramon Magsaysay Award 2023 Winners 

Here are the details about the 2023 Ramon Magsaysay Award winners :

Korvi Rakshand – Bangladesh

  • Founder of JAAGO Foundation.
  • 13th Bangladeshi to receive the Ramon Magsaysay Award.
  • Established JAAGO in 2007, providing free government-recognized English-language education to over 30,000 underprivileged students in Bangladesh.
  • Contribution: Developing inclusive education for underprivileged children in Bangladesh.

Eugenio Lemos – Timor-Leste

  • Prominent agriculture expert in Timor-Leste.
  • Advocated organic farming and modern sustainable agro-systems.
  • Founded Permakultura Timor-Lorosa’e in 2001, offering training programs in agriculture, aquaculture, and agroforestry.
  • Known as an activist, songwriter, and singer, promoting social issues through his music.
  • Contribution: Notable contributions to how young Timorese views nature and their surroundings.

Miriam Coronel-Ferrer – Philippines

  • Played a significant role in settling war disputes and opposing martial rule in the Philippines since the late 1970s.
  • Part of drafting the Philippines’ first ‘National Action Plan on Women, Peace, and Security,’ officially adopted in 2010.
  • Chairperson for the Philippine Government’s Peace Panel in 2012.
  • Co-founded Southeast Asian Women Peace Mediators, providing a safe dialogue space for women in the Philippines and other Asian countries.
  • Contribution: Unwavering belief in the transformative power of non-violent strategies in peacebuilding.

Dr. Ravi Kannan R. – India

  • The first formally trained oncologist in the Cachar Cancer Hospital and Research Centre (CCHRC).
  • Transformed CCHRC into a comprehensive cancer treatment center with 28 departments.
  • Focus on providing inclusive healthcare to all, regardless of background or status.
  • Strong devotion to his medical profession, emphasizing pro-health and people-centered treatment.
  • Contribution: Strong devotion to his medical profession, focusing on pro-health and people-centered treatment.

Ramon Magsaysay Award Categories

Here are the Ramon Magsaysay Award categories in a table format:

Year Range

Award Categories


Government Service


Public Service


Community Leadership


Journalism, Literature, and Creative Communication Arts

1958 2008

Peace and International Understanding


Emergent Leadership



Prize In Ramon  Magsaysay Award 

The Ramon Magsaysay Award, often regarded as the “Nobel Prize of Asia,” is a prestigious accolade that celebrates outstanding individuals and organizations in Asia who have demonstrated exceptional spirit and influential leadership.

Established in memory of the late Philippine President Ramon Magsaysay, this award recognizes those who have made significant contributions to society, transcending boundaries of nationality, race, and creed. In the 65th edition of the awards in 2023, four remarkable Asians were honored for their exceptional achievements.

Korvi Rakshand from Bangladesh, Eugenio Lemos from Timor-Leste, Miriam Coronel-Ferrer from the Philippines, and Dr. Ravi Kannan R. from India. Each recipient is awarded a certificate, a medallion bearing President Magsaysay’s likeness, and a cash prize of USD 50,000, joining the esteemed ranks of previous laureates who have left a lasting impact on their communities and beyond.

Disclaimer: The above information is for general informational purposes only. All information on the Site is provided in good faith, however we make no representation or warranty of any kind, express or implied, regarding the accuracy, adequacy, validity, reliability, availability or completeness of any information on the Site.

Leave a Comment